Great Songwriting, Just Not in English

I was listening to some old music from my childhood and came across this song, Amaneci en Tus Brazos, as performed by Maria Dolores Pradera, a Spaniard who showed genuine affection for Latin American music. See the original and my crappy translation, which I hope still captures the sublime lyrics of this song of a woman in love to her man:

Amanecí otra vez entre tus brazos
Y desperté llorando de alegría
Me cobije la cara con tus manos
Para seguirte amando todavia.

Te despertaste tú cási dormido
Y me querías decir no sé que cosa
Pero callé tu boca con mis besos
Y así pasaron muchas, muchas horas.

Cuando llegó la noche
Apareció la luna
Y entró por la ventana.
Que cosa más bonita
Cuando la luz del cielo
Iluminó tu cara.

Yo me volví a esconderme entre tus brazos
Tú me querias decir no sé que cosa
Pero callé tu boca con mis besos
Y asi pasaron muchas, muchas horas.

In English:

I woke up again in your arms
Crying tears of joy
I buried my face in your hands
So I could keep on loving you.

You woke up, practically asleep
And you tried to tell me something, I don’t know what it was
But I shut your mouth with my kisses
And so we spent many, many hours

When night came
The moon appeared
Through the window
What a beautiful sight
When that light in the sky
Lit up your face

And again I hid in your arms
You tried to tell me something, I don’t know what it was
But I shut your mouth with my kisses
And so we spent many, many hours

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

